top of page

Sacrifice


Sacrifice has been around for centuries. Sacrifice is when one surrender's or gives up something for the sake of something else, a greater cause. The first sacrifice started with the Lord. God sacrificed his son to die on the cross for us so that we may be forgiven of all of our many sins. He did this so that sinners like me and you have the opportunity to ask Jesus into our hearts so that we might be saved and go to Heaven. God sacrificed the greatest gift of all. His own son's life. That is big if you think about it. God wants us to sacrifice things not only for him but our neighbors, strangers and loved ones. 1 Corinthians 16:14 "Let all that you do be done in love."


God wants us to sacrifice for our neighbors and strangers. James 2:8 "If you really fulfill the royal law according to the Scripture, “You shall love your neighbor as yourself,” you are doing well." Sometimes in life you do things because you see that others are in need of your help, because you want to do something that will benefit others. I think that it is truly amazing when you help someone out regardless of where you know if they are going through something or not. You never know what someone is going through and it is always the right thing to do to be nice. It is so much easier being kind then it is to be mean. Last year I had a tree fall on my house. My landlord took forever and it was on our house for a few weeks so my neighbor saw me outside trying to do something as if I could do anything that would make a difference (HAHA) and he came over and started helping me. I offered to pay him for helping me but he wouldn't let me. He had so many other things that he could be doing and responsibilities that I am sure he had to take care of but he took time out of his day to be kind and help me. He sacrificed his time and needs to help out someone. I think that this is just one example of the way God intended us to sacrifice and be kind to our neighbors. So next time you see your neighbor struggling to carry in groceries or take out the trash, go lend them a hand. We should help out our neighbors and be kind to one another.

1 John 3:17 "But if anyone has the world's goods and sees his brother in need, yet closes his heart against him, how does God's love abide in him?"


Sacrifice for your partner. We have to remember that sacrifice is not just acts of kindness. When we think of sacrifice, most of the time we think of gifts or things we can do for one another. What does it truly mean to give sacrificial love for your partner? Sacrifice is NOT putting yourself in a position for your partner's feelings to be hurt. Before you do something think if that would grow your relationship with your partner, if it would benefit your relationship or if it would upset them and hurt them. I was always told since I was little someone who values you will never put them in a position to loose you. Sacrifice to me is not always doing what I want to do but what would help out my partner and our relationship. Sacrifice to me is encouraging your partner, being their biggest supporter and loving them on their bad days just as much as their goods. Sacrifice is pushing your partner to be a better person for them not just for your sake. Sacrifice is not just acts of kindness but it is helping them, praying for them and leading them. Sacrifice for your partner is true love. I think sacrifice is an important key to any successful relationship. We have to remember not everything is about you or me. It is rather about you two together combined as one. So if you have to take a little time out of your day to be extra sweet to your bf/gf, do it. Do things out of the kindness of your heart and don't expect anything in return. Do it because you love them and for the love of our God. Love is selfless. Love is genuine and love is kind. Love is a beautiful thing.


John 13:34 "A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another."


I hope this gives you a better understanding of what sacrifice is. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to read this.


XOXO-

Sarah Grace

Commentaires


bottom of page