top of page

When things turn out unexpectedly


Sometimes in life, things don't go as we planned. The wonderful thing is that we make plans and think we have our whole future lined out. But then boom, God comes in and laughs at us because that is not what he intended. It can be sad and disappointing when things don't go your way. This is something that I have been learning and going through recently. While in this time of God sitting me down and showing me that his plan will be done, I have learned several things. One thing that has come to light is embracing when things don't go as you thought. I know sometimes it can be heartbreaking. I have been there. It is hard to see past the hurt. We have questions as to what went wrong or where we messed up along the way. However, this is not at all true. The question we should be asking ourselves is, what is God trying to show us? I am a firm believer that some people are supposed to be in our lives to teach us something, help us grow, and even help us get one step closer to where God designed us to be. Instead of looking at things negatively when things don't go as we thought, look at the bright side. I know it is easier said than done and I still am working on this day by day. People come and go in your life. It is the hard truth that we have to accept. Be thankful for the good memories and what each person has taught you in this life. I believe every friendship, relationship, or even former coworker has taught me something that I can bring with me in the future. They also have helped me realize who I am, what I deserve, and what I exactly want out of life. This is so beautiful to me that even though friendships don't always last that they are a part of your journey and a stepping stone to your final destination. It is beautiful that each individual plays a small part in our own storybook. God turns our plans upside down so he can teach us and lead us exactly where we need to be. In my 23 years of life so far, this has yet to be one of the hardest things for me to accept. God has a plan and we just have to let go completely and give our life to him. He will guide us along the way. I think something so great to know is that we have not even seen all of our greatest days of life. If you woke up today, God is not finished with you yet. Don't give up and trust that his plan is greater than we could have ever imagined. The best things in life seem to happen unexpectedly. Going forward, I am going to live each day as if it is my last and let Jesus take the wheel. It is my hopes that you will do the same, too.


Proverbs 16:9 "We can make plans, but the Lord determines our steps."


A letter to all of the people that have helped me along the way:


Dear old friend,

Thank you for first all of the great memories that we share. Thank you for being there for me at some point in my life when God knows I needed you. I am thankful for the time that we shared together. You have helped me grow into the woman that I am today. I wish you nothing but happiness and love in this life. I pray that God will watch over you in the days to come. Even if we don't ever speak, I want you to know that I will forever be grateful for you and will always wish you nothing but the best. I hope you smile and giggle when you think of me.

With all my love, Sarah Grace


Thank you for reading my thoughts. Have a blessed day and learn from me! (:

Comments


bottom of page