top of page

What I want in my future husband


When I was little I always have dreamed of what I wanted in my future husband. All of the qualities and standards I wanted them to have and meet. I have always prayed for my future husband from the time I was a little girl until this day. I prayed for our future together and for where he is at in life right now. A few years ago I started a journal with letters and prayers in it to give to my future husband on our wedding day. It is something I hold very dear to my heart. I have always been a sucker for letters. My first standard is that I don't want my husbands top priority to be me. I know you're thinking, why don't you want to be his main priority? Well I want God to be his main priority. I am a firm believer that God has to be the center of any relationship wether it be bf/gf, a friendship or marriage. I want him to lead me to the Lord, to grow deeper in his word together and alone. I want him to lead my future children to learn to love the Lord. My future husband, I want him to seek God. I want him to encourage my relationship with him and our souls to be on fire for more of Gods word and love. I want to normalize praying together. If our relationship is centered around God then nothing can come between. I come second, God comes first to him.


My second standard for my husband is that I want him to have qualities like my grandfather. I want him to love me the way my papaw loves my grandma. I want him to be selfless, caring, compassionate, loving, and kind, just as my grandfather is. I want him to remind me of my papaw. My future husband, I want him to be so generous that he would give a stranger his jacket because they're cold or help someone in need that is worse off than we are. Not because I want him to and it's the morally right thing to do but out of the genuine and kindness in his heart. My grandfathers would do anything to help anyone and that is something I dream of my future husband to aspire to be like. My grandpa's are the greatest men in this world and they have always treated their wife's so well. They have set the expectations for me to have one day. I have always dreamed of having someone half the man my grandfather is.


This is my letter today to my future husband.

As you're reading this I want you to know that I care about you so much. Never doubt my love for you because words can't even begin to come close to describe it. I hope that you try for me just as you did when we first started talking. I will do the same for you. I hope you never forget how important you are to me. You have changed my life so much already and I can't thank you enough for making me want to be a better person and helping me become a better person each and everyday. I hope you fall in love with me more and more everyday. I hope that you never give up on me. We will have arguments and rough days ahead but I pray that we can talk about it and work through it together. Don't give up on me when things get rough. I hope that I will always be enough for you, on all days. I may not be the prettiest, skinniest or funniest woman in the world but I have a heart of gold and I would do anything for the people I care about. I pray that I will be everything you ever hoped for and more. I hope that you fall in love with my soul and want me for all of me. I want you to want me on my bad days when I am crying and have my hair in a bun, wearing sweatpants, and a t-shirt that is four sizes to big for me just as much on the days I am in heels and a dress. I want to be your rock. I want you to come to me always and talk about everything with me. I want to be your best friend. I want us to grow old together and be an example for our future kids and grandkids what their life should be like one day. Once we are married, you are mine forever and I am yours until my dying day. Whatever challenges may come through our way there is only one way through them and that is to work through it together. Divorce will never be an option. I also want you to have dreams. I will always encourage you to follow your goals and dreams. I will be your biggest supporter and number 1 fan, always. I will continue to push you to do your very best in whatever you may do because I expect the same from you. I promise to always take care of you. I promise to always give you one hundred and ten percent. I promise I will never stop making you smile. I promise to respect you. I promise to be a good wife and mother to our future children. I promise to always cherish you and never take you for granted. I am so grateful that God has placed you into my life and I believe that you were made for me. I am beyond thrilled to see what God has in store for our future together. You are my soulmate. You are the most amazing man in this world and the one I want and will choose everyday. To all the moments, days, months, years and memories too come I can't wait to go through them with you by my side.


With all my love,

Sarah Grace

Comments


bottom of page