top of page

Broken Back


This is something that helped shaped me into who I am today. Presidents day in 2015, was a day that changed my life forever. It was a cold winter day. At the time I went to school at Harmony Grove in Haskell, Arkansas. I have went to Sheridan Schools all my life. In 9th grade I moved to Harmony Grove because I was bullied and wanted a fresh start. So we moved houses and schools. I was bullied because of my teeth. I had a bad overbite and people would make fun of me and call me names. I never went to school one day without people mocking me. It was terrible and this was one of the worst times of my life. I was very insecure and emotional. My parents had been divorced since I was about 2 or 3 years old. When we moved my mom was also getting remarried at the time so it was great for my new family. It had snowed that day well basically was all ice. We lived in a housing edition in Haskell, Arkansas that had a golf course on it. My mom was asleep and my neighbors was knocking on my door and asked me to go sledding with them so I did without thinking twice about it or telling my mom. I should’ve told them that I had never been sledding before but that thought never crossed my mind because I would’ve never in a million years thought I would get hurt and end up in the hospital by the end of that day. They decide to pick the biggest hill on the course. Well everyone had gone and it was my turn so my neighbor Trace, that I also went to school with and I also cheered with told me he would give me a push down the hill. So he pushes me and I go down the big hill and all I remember was flying off and hitting a log then flying off the log and hitting a tree. It was the most painful thing. I was freezing cold. My whole body was numb and I couldn’t feel my legs or back. I tried to get up and I couldn’t. I was screaming and was in so much pain. Everyone just thought I was really bad bruised and was being a baby but sadly that wasn’t the case. They finally got a four by four down on the course and put me on it. I went to my house and my neighbors knocked on the door and told my mom. They carried me into the house because they thought I was just bruised and needed to lay down. Not even a hour later I was screaming because I was hurting so bad. My mom took me to Saline Memorial Hospital in Benton, Arkansas and they did not give me any pain medicine at all. They said I was fine and just badly bruised. So we went home and I couldn't even make it through the night. I was in tears. My mom knew that I wasn't okay so she took me to Arkansas Children's Hospital in Little Rock. They told us that Saline Memorial should have never sent me home and that my back was broken. I broke my lower back. If you know what the L’s are in your back you should get an idea about where I broke it. Its little fingers off of your spine. It was the most painful thing in this world that I have ever experienced. I don't recommend breaking your back or sledding. I would never wish anyone that pain that I experienced. I stayed in the hospital for a about a month. I couldn't walk for 3 weeks. The doctors told me that I could never cheer again and it broke my heart. Cheering was my whole life and I can’t tell you the feeling in my stomach I had when I received that news.

Comments


bottom of page