top of page

Letting go


Sometimes in life we have things or certain events that happen to us that we hold on to because of all the pain and hurt that it caused us. As humans we don't give up easily. We want to try and fix what happened. But by holding onto that event or person we are robbing ourselves of happiness. In order to no longer have that suffering and grow we need to let it go. I know that it is easier said than done. Trust me I have had several people tell me to let go of things that are no longer helping me but hurting me and hindering me of my happiness and peace. It is a hard thing to do but it will benefit you. Just because you had a bad day a week ago doesn't mean you're going to today. Let go to the things that no longer serve you. When you find it difficult to move forward, I think that reading some of these verses will help.


Philippians 3:13-14 "Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus."


When things don't work out in life we are disappointed and feel hurt. God has a reasoning for everything that happens. He knows what our days are going to be like before we even reach them. I know when you are in the situation it is hard to grasp that. But every disappointment is a blessing in disguise. God has something greater in store for you. He could be protecting you from worse or preparing you for something greater. No longer hold on to things that doesn't benefit our wellbeing.


Isaiah 43:18-19 "“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland."


Letting go of things is not saying that you are weak or a quitter. Instead it is a sign that you have enough courage to go on to what God has in store for you next in life. In the verse above Isaiah is telling us that we need to forget the past because we can't go back. We can't change what happened. It already happened and is over with. So we need to move on to the future and focus on greater things that are ahead, eternal things. God's plan is always greater than ours.


Matthew 6:14-15 " For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins."


Forgiveness is such a powerful gesture and word. Not only do you have to let the things go that his holding you back but you also have to forgive them. Forgiveness may seem like a hard thing for something for us to do but if God can forgive everyone for all of our many sins, we can forgive others. When we repent to God, he forgives us of our sins. No one is perfect but him. We all fall short and sin but we can try to do things that hold us accountable so when we do sin we can learn.


Romans 8:28 " And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them that are called according to his purpose."


All things happen because they have a purpose wether they are good or bad. They work for the purpose God has in store for us. God promised to always be there for us and give us strength. If you are feeling discouraged just know that God has a plan and he is working in mysterious ways that we may not even know or can see but he will take care of us if we live for him.


Today I encourage you to let go of whatever you are holding on to. Don't let it have so much power over you that it destroys your happiness. I pray that you will have enough strength to let go of what no longer benefits your soul. Give it to God and let go. I will do the same.


XOXO- Sarah Grace



Comments


bottom of page