top of page

My dear Papaw Harold


When I was little I always said I did not want to live without my grandparents. I still have said it even as I got older. It has always been a big fear of mine. I dreaded the day that I am living today my whole life. It seems unreal to me. I don’t want to believe it. I know my papaw is in Heaven with Jesus. I know he is with his parents again. That brings me peace knowing that he is with some of his loved ones that are in Heaven and he will always be looking down on us. I will forever cherish the memories I have with my papaw. Although I wish that I could have more time with him, I am thankful for the time I did have with him.


I always made papaw cookies. I would make sure to bring some by bobo and papas before I came back to college. His favorite cookies I made him were the sugar cookies but the ones with rolos in them. Papaw always loved when I brought him cookies. I would do anything to cook him some more today. When I think of my papaw I think of all the hunting videos he would show me. I think of all the stories he would tell me. All of the jokes and advice he gave me throughout the years. I think of going to Walmart for him because he did not want to go. I think of him bringing me donut palace when I was younger with white milk (with ice of course). I think of all the big macs and fries he loved from McDonalds but with a sprite or sweet tea. I think of all the sprites he drank. I think of always visiting him at his office and sitting in the waiting room playing as a kid. I remember all of the times I would listen to him ramble on and on about nothing but I didn’t care because I was with him and that is all that mattered.


Papaw was an inspiration to me, and always will be. He showed me many things in life. I always told him that I would never marry a man if he did not remind me of him. That's how good of a man my papaw was. Papaw forever changed my life. It won’t be the same without him around. My favorite thing about papaw is his love and passion for what he did in life. No matter if it was hunting, fishing, spending time with his grandchildren, work or family, papaw did everything with his heart and out of love. Every time I talked to papaw on the phone he would always answer with “yes dear”. So simple but yet so pure. Papaw is one of the most selfless people that I have ever met in my life. He would do anything for anyone to help them out. My papaw showed me how a man should treat me by the way he treated my Bobo. Papaw would always take me to dinner or lunch and we would have dates. I remember in high school I had an awards breakfast and he came before work just to be with me so I wouldn’t be alone. Papaw came to my homecoming in college and although I just got to spend a few minutes with him it meant the whole world to me that he was there. Papaw has always been there for me, on my good days and not so good days. He has seen me at my absolute worst and best and he still loved me. He gave me encouragement when I needed it the most. My papaw taught me many things in life. If you knew my papaw I know he touched your life too. Papaw has helped shape me into who I am today. I will forever carry his memories with me. I will live my life for the rest of my days trying to make him proud and living for him. It has been such a blessing to have Harold as my Papaw. Until we meet again, I love you forever.


Sarah Grace

Yorumlar


bottom of page